

January 22, 2024

The Honorable David Crane Under Secretary for Infrastructure U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20585

Dear Under Secretary Crane,

The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) requests an extension of the deadline for concept papers for the competitive funding authorized through Section 50131, Assistance for Latest and Zero Building Energy Code Adoption, of the *Inflation Reduction Act* (IRA, Public Law 117-169). State Energy Offices and their local government and private sector partners are leaders in advancing cost effective, resilient, and innovative building energy codes. The substantial number of funding opportunities from the U.S. Department of Energy combined with the release of the Section 50131 competitive funds on December 18, 2023 — just prior to the holidays — and pressure to move key programs such as residential rebates allows only 54 days for states and their partners to respond.

In addition to the extremely limited concept paper submittal window provided, DOE's proposed deadline has added considerable confusion and complexity for prospective jurisdictional applicants, who face a January 31, 2024, deadline for IRA Section 50131 formula funding letters of intent and a February 29, 2024, deadline for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Codes Plus Up effort under the Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) program, which has a 141-day application window. Most states have BRIC pre-application deadlines, many of which fall in January 2024. In addition, the State Energy Offices are working very hard to braid funding among a variety of programs so that their constituents will benefit to a maximum extent. The building energy codes program fits in this category as the states and their local partners are attempting to connect codes and other activities. Additional time will help the public.

We respectfully request that you extend the application window for concept papers for an additional 90 days to align with other recent IRA and IIJA funding opportunities and ensure interested states have the time and opportunity to submit robust concept papers for this program.

Best regards,

David Terry, President, NASEO

CC: State Energy Directors

1300 North 17th Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair

JOHN WILLIAMS New York

Vice Chair

MOLLY CRIPPS Tennessee

Treasurer

EDDY TREVINO Texas

Secretary

WILL TOOR Colorado

Parliamentarian

JASON LANCLOS Louisiana

Member at Large

MICHELLE GRANSEE Minnesota

Past Chair

ANDREW MCALLISTER

Regional Representatives

DAN BURGESS Maine

KATIE DYKES Connecticut

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

NICK BURGER Washington, D.C.

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

KENYA STUMP Kentucky

JULIE STAVELAND Michigan

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

RICHARD STOVER Idaho

MARIA EFFERTZ

LYNN RETZ Kansas

President

DAVID TERRY

General Counsel

JEFFREY C. GENZER