

February 19, 2021

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader, U.S. Senate 322 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Joe Manchin Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, U.S. Senate 306 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader, U.S. Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable John Barrasso Ranking Minority Member, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, U.S. Senate 307 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Re: Nomination of Representative Deb Haaland as Interior Secretary

Dear Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Chairman Manchin, and Ranking Member Barrasso:

The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO), representing the governor-designated State Energy Directors from the 56 States, Territories, and District of Columbia, strongly supports confirmation of U.S. Representative Deb Haaland as the nation's next Secretary of the Interior.

Congresswoman Haaland is uniquely qualified for the immense challenges that the U.S. Department of the Interior will need to navigate: protecting America's natural resources and cultures, developing energy resources in an environmentally sustainable manner, and bolstering community and economic resilience. On energy matters, Representative Haaland has embraced the crucial role that innovative clean energy infrastructure and technologies, meaningful stakeholder engagement, and data-driven policymaking can play in achieving the mission of the Department of the Interior. The fact that Congresswoman Haaland would be the first Native American to serve as Interior Secretary and Cabinet Secretary is a pivotal step for our nation and elevates historically underrepresented voices to improve the outcomes of policy discussions and decision-making processes.

NASEO looks forward to the opportunity to work with Representative Haaland and her teams at the Bureau of Land Management of Bureau of Ocean Energy Management to advance streamlined decision-making on energy infrastructure on federal lands and in federal waters. Through Representative Haaland's leadership, we hope to advance state-federal collaboration that can unlock billions of dollars of investments in clean, affordable energy infrastructure.

For these reasons, we urge you to rapidly advance Congresswoman Haaland's confirmation.

Best regards,

David Terry, Executive Director, NASEO

CC: State Energy Directors

1300 North 17th Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair

KELLEY SMITH BURK

Vice Chair

JOHN WILLIAMS New York

Treasurer

MOLLY CRIPPS
Tennessee

Secretary

WILL TOOR Colorado

Past Chair

ANDREW MCALLISTER
California

Parliamentarian

JASON LANCLOS

Regional Representatives

DAN BURGESS Maine

PATRICK WOODCOCK Massachusetts

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

MARY BETH TUNG Maryland

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

SUMESH ARORA Mississippi

MICHELLE GRANSEE
Minnesota

CHAD KRUSE Illinois

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

JOHN CHATBURN

EDDY TREVINO Texas

DAN LLOYD

Affiliates' Co-Chairs

ELIZABETH BEARDSLEY
U.S. Green Buildings Council

MATTHEW MORRISSEY Ørsted

Executive Director

DAVID TERRY

General Counsel

JEFFREY C. GENZER